"We help you take the relationship you have and make it the one you want."
 

Registration
premarital preparation course
FAQ (Frequently Asked Questions)
What You Will Learn
Marriage License Info
Clerk of the Court Websites & Contact Info
Wedding Resources
Wedding Planning Helps
Articles on Relationship
Getting the Love You Want Workshop
Counseling Services
Resources & Links
Office & Other Info
Relationship Blog
About Dawn Lipthrott, LCSW

Contact Us

premarital course florida

Dawn J. Lipthrott, LCSW
Relationship Learning Ctr.
1177 Louisiana Ave. Ste. 109
Winter Park, FL 32789

(part of Orlando area)


Tel & Fax: 407-740-7763

 

 

Online Florida Premarital Course:
Complete a Premarital Course for your Florida Marriage License
(or just because you WANT to!)

Click on the Cart button florida marriage course to purchase and download your homestudy Florida Premarital Preparation Course     
(You can use any credit card and the payment will be processed through PayPal for security. (You do NOT need to join Paypal. Fee is $30 -- plus tax for Florida residents)

florida premarital course onlineThe home study Premarital Course , Steps Toward Co-creating a Happy, Lasting Marriage meets the 4-hour requirement for Florida Marriage Licenses in the counties listed below. You can immediately download the PDF file once your payment is processed.

To Avoid Delay or Denial of Your Certificate:
1. Check your county in the list below.

2. Make sure you use a valid email when you purchase the course. Links to the course and quiz are sent automatically to the email you use to register.


3. Florida law REQUIRES that you spend a minimum of 4 hours on the course -- no matter who gives it and no matter what form.

4. Take the quiz AFTER you do the course and most of the activities.

• Is your county on the list below? What if it is not?
If it is, the certificate will be accepted there. If it is not, you can check with the clerk's office in your county. Another alternative is to get your license in one of the counties where the course IS accepted. Once you have a license, you can get married in ANY county in Florida, but will have to file your paperwork after the wedding in the county where you got your license.

Currently, I am approved for premarital preparation course providers in the following counties. Click here to download proofs for SOME of these counties. Not all counties send confirmation or have online directories, so there are a few you may have to call if you want to verify.

Alachua County
Bay County
Brevard County
Broward County
Charlotte County
Citrus County (as of Feb 2011)
Clay County (as of Feb 2011)
Collier County
Columbia County
Duval County
Escambia County
Flagler County-- requires an original certificate) *
Hernando County (as of Feb 2011)
Hillsborough County
Indian River County
Lake County
Lee County
Leon county
Marion County

Miami-Dade County
Monroe County --
requires an original certificate) **
Nassau County
Okaloosa County
Orange County
Osceola County
Palm Beach County
Pasco

Pinellas County
Polk County
Sarasota County
Seminole County
St. Lucie County
Volusia County

• When you purchase the course, you will receive a link to download the course as a PDF file.The current fee for the premarital course is $30 (plus tax for Florida residents). The link expires after a certain number of days and a certain number of access attempts. It is set to the max, but you are better off to download the course and take as long as you want.
If your partner is in another state or country, simply forward them the letter with the link. You only have to pay for ONE course.
florida marriage license

• Both have to do the course and quiz to have both names on the certificate.
If you want both names on the certificate, each of you has to do his/her quiz. If your partner is a non-resident, check with your county. Some require the non-resident to have a certificate and some do not. Email me when you finish so I can review them as soon as possible.

• . Certificates:
You will receive your certificate by email within one business day.
On Fridays,you need to complete it and notify me by 7:30am to get the certificate that day because I frequently have meetings
.

Flagler,and Monroe Counties require original copies, so allow time for them to be mailed to you.) I check quizzes throughout the day unless I am in a meeting or with a full day counseling session, so sometimes I can get them out quickly, but allow a full day. If you complete it on a weekend, I usually do certificates Sunday evening or early Monday morning.

If you have any questions, please check our Frequently Asked Questions page. If your question is not answered there, e-mail me.

 

If you are in a different county or state, please contact us so that we can make sure our application for approval has been completed for your county or state.
**If you are in Pasco or Monroe County, allow time to do the course and receive the certificate by regular mail. They will not accept the usual ones we send by e-mail.

While some of you are doing this because of a requirement, the premarital course information and activities can help you learn tools to help you create a stronger marriage, if you use them. Use this as an investment in your future! We have some couples in Florida and out of state that take the course just to be prepared and they do not need a certificate.

You will learn:

    How to increase your chances of creating a fulfilling, lasting marriagepremarital course in Florida online
    How to communicate and work with hurts & frustrations
    How to create your own blueprint as a guide for your marriage
    How to create or deepen emotional intimacy
    Information on sexual issues and more
    How to increase understanding of your partner's perspective on important issues
    How to give the best gift possible to yourselves as a couple and to your children -- a successful and fulfilling marriage.

Fees and More:
The current fee for the premarital course is $30 (plus tax for Florida residents).

florida marriage licenseYou will need to print out your certificate and take it to the Clerk's office for your marriage license.

How Long Does it Take to Get the Premarital Course & Certificate?

1. When you register, you will receive a link to download the course as a PDF file.
You can begin working immediately after you pay for the course.

2. Do the course.
Couples say the course takes 4-5 hours to complete. Florida law specifies that you are required to spend 4 hours on any premarital course that you take. You will be asked to attest to that fact when you apply for your license. You can print out a copy of the course for each of you to work on individually at your own pace. The course has both information and activities. Some of the activities are for you to do alone. Others are to do with your partner. (If you're partner lives in another state or country, you can complete the information part and then do the activities when you get together. You may do some of them after you get married, although I recommend you do as many as possible before. At the end of the course are a series of questions that are important to discuss. The activities are opportunities to learn more about yourself and your partner and to create emotional intimacy.

3. Take the short quiz and evaluation online.
When I send the course, the e-mail will have a link to the short quiz. If you miss more than what is allowed, I will send you the questions you missed so you have another opportunity to review the material and answer them. The testing service will not notify me automatically, so if you are in a hurry, please e-mail me to let me know you have completed the test so I can review it as soon as possible.

4. When you pass the quiz, I will prepare the premarital course certificate and send it to you as a PDF file by e-mail so you can get it right away so that you can take it when you go to get your marriage license.

While I try to help you get the requirement completed as quickly as possible when you are up against a deadline, please try to give yourself adequate time by registering as soon as possible! NOTE: On Fridays, you must complete your course before 7:30am Friday mornings to be able to insure that you receive your certificate that day.

You cannot register in the morning and expect to have the certificate before 5pm. You MIGHT receive it then, but I cannot guarantee it. I am in and out of client sessions during the day. You will receive the e-mailed certificate within 1 business day. You need to allow the 4 hours to do the course, to do the test, to have me review the test and then create and send the certificate by e-mail. I will try to do it ASAP. Invest your time, energy and effort to meet the requirement, pass the test, and get good information and skills for the rest of your life together!)

Click on the Cart button florida premarital course to purchase and download your homestudy Florida Premarital Preparation Course     
(You can use any credit card and the payment will be processed through PayPal for security. (You do NOT need to join Paypal. Cost of the course is $30 -- plus tax for Florida residents)

• FAQ (Frequently Asked Questions)

• What Other Couples Say About the Premarital Course

NOTE: On FRIDAYS, you must complete your course before 7:30am Friday mornings to be able to insure that you receive your certificate that day.

DISCLAIMER  Disclaimer: Information, observations, and opinions are offered for general reference only and should not be misconstrued as counseling advice, diagnosis or psychotherapy. Base your treatment or decisions solely upon the recommendations of your your own psychotherapist, counselor or physician or your own choices. By using this site, you signify full acceptance of our Terms of Use.   

PRIVACY POLICY

I welcome your constructive comments and suggestions about the premarital course, the material on this website and how we can all be most effective in co-creating the kind of relationships and world that is honoring and respectful for all people.
© Dawn Lipthrott, The Relationship Learning Center, 2008, Renewed 2013www.relationshipjourney.com